Governor Wolf Restates the Need for Thoughtful Reopening of PA Counties

Written by on May 15, 2020

Governor Wolf Restates the Need for Thoughtful Reopening of PA Counties

By Brad Klein

May 15, 2020

Governor Tom Wolf announced that more counties will enter the yellow phase for gradual reopening today. Adams, Beaver, Carbon, Columbia, Cumberland, Juniata, Mifflin, Perry, Susquehanna, Wyoming, Wayne, and York to move to the yellow phase next week.

The news comes as Wolf faces increasing pressure from Republican lawmakers and other leaders to reopen sooner. On a visit to Allentown this Thursday, May 14, President Donald Trump weighed in. 

“We have to get your governor of Pennsylvania to start opening up a little bit. You have areas of Pennsylvania that are barely affected and you want to keep them closed.”

Wolf didn’t address the president’s comments on a call with reporters, but he did say the current plan is designed to contain the spread of the virus.

“If there’s a better way to do that, I’m all ears, but simply flicking a switch or waving a magic wand and saying, ‘This is gonna open up. We don’t really care about the virus.’ That doesn’t make any sense to me,” said Governor Wolf. 

The Lehigh Valley, a state hotspot, is expected to remain under stay-at-home orders. As of today, 37 counties across northern and western Pennsylvania have moved to yellow. 

Some county officials outside the Valley have said they will reopen today without permission from the state. 


Current track