Changing of the guard: New mayors, other elected leaders being sworn in today

Written by on January 3, 2022

Changing of the guard: New mayors, other elected leaders being sworn in today

By Jim Deegan
Jan. 3, 2022

ALLENTOWN, Pa. – Today is inauguration day in the Lehigh Valley.

Mayors, council members, judges, county heads and other elected officials will be sworn into office. As COVID-19 cases surge, the public is being invited to attend most ceremonies — virtually, online.

At 5:30 p.m., Matt Tuerk will be sworn is Allentown’s new mayor. His spokesperson says they are concerned about people celebrating New Year’s Eve at events just days before and then coming in and potentially spreading the virus. So attendance has been heavily restricted – it’s not open to the public – and everyone must be masked. 

People can watch Tuerk and Allentown’s new council members take their oaths of office on the city’s website. Click on the words “In Progress,” which will appear when the meeting starts.

Lehigh County Executive Phillips Armstrong’s swearing-in will also be livestreamed, at 11 a.m. this morning, and the Lehigh County commissioners tonight.

Bethlehem will host a Facebook stream at 10 a.m. for the inauguration of new Mayor J. William Reynolds.

Northampton County will host its swearing-in ceremony for Executive Lamont McClure, other county leaders and district judges at 1 p.m.

Sign up for our WLVR weekly newsletter to stay up to date with the latest news from the Lehigh Valley and across Pennsylvania.


Current track